Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 255

Thread: Webhosting Companies And Security Related Attacks

  1. #81
    Ipstenu's Avatar
    Ipstenu is offline Big Tipper
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Back to the original topic, here's more info from Tech Cocktail - LINK REMOVED
    Last edited by Ryan; 04-11-2010 at 07:41 PM. Reason: potential hazardous link removed

  2. #82
    Cais's Avatar
    Cais is offline Big Tipper
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Mississauga, ON, CANADA
    Posts
    349

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ipstenu View Post
    Back to the original topic, here's more info from Tech Cocktail - WordPress Hacked! Virus Cloaks Search Engines.
    Hmmm ... interesting how Kapersky immediately flags when you click that link, something about a trojan virus running?!

  3. #83
    chipbennett's Avatar
    chipbennett is offline WordPress Legend
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,997

    Default

    I keep checking, and can't find any evidence of being hit.

    The only out-of-the-ordinary thing I've noticed was that I had someone invoke the limit-login-attempts once, recently.

    I don't use remote publishing, but had never disabled Atom or XML-RPC. Unless I've just never been targeted, I don't think they alone represent the attack vector. (Nevertheless, I just disabled both, just to be sure.)

    So is the current thinking that it's plugin-related, and/or that magpie.rss is somehow related?
    WP TurnKey - Turn-Key WordPress installation and maintenance services
    WordPress user since 2005 | @chip_bennett | chipbennett.net | cbnet Plugins

  4. #84
    Ipstenu's Avatar
    Ipstenu is offline Big Tipper
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    368

    Default

    I use xmlrpc to remote manage my blog via the WordPress iPhone plugin (approve comments etc, I really use it all the time!). I've never been targeted either *knockonwood* BUT I did notice a huge uptick in 404s where my xmlrpc isn't (one folder off). Magpie RSS wouldn't shock me, honestly, WP is using an old version, but so are other web apps. I dunno, it's weird.

  5. #85
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline WordPress Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JellyBeen View Post
    Hmmm ... interesting how Kapersky immediately flags when you click that link, something about a trojan virus running?!
    Are you meaning that the link you clicked above gave that warning?

    My computer crashed and I got a virus last night. The last thing I had done was to visit that website.

    I tried to log back in here and couldn't as my computer was so messed up that it wouldn't log back into the Tavern. I'm now at work on a different computer, hence able to reply.

    I'll remove the link.

  6. #86
    Ipstenu's Avatar
    Ipstenu is offline Big Tipper
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    368

    Default

    That's really weird ... I don't have that problem, but I'm on a Mac. Many apologies if that site's doing that, though! I'd never have linked to it if I'd know THAT was happening!

  7. #87
    chipbennett's Avatar
    chipbennett is offline WordPress Legend
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    St. Louis, MO
    Posts
    1,997

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ipstenu View Post
    That's really weird ... I don't have that problem, but I'm on a Mac. Many apologies if that site's doing that, though! I'd never have linked to it if I'd know THAT was happening!
    Same here. I run Linux, and only explicitly allow scripts. So, no virus here. Though, might as well read Ben's blog post over at wpblogger.com - since the blog post you linked was quoting from/linking to Ben's post.
    WP TurnKey - Turn-Key WordPress installation and maintenance services
    WordPress user since 2005 | @chip_bennett | chipbennett.net | cbnet Plugins

  8. #88
    PaulCunningham's Avatar
    PaulCunningham is offline Hello World
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    70

    Default

    Yeah I clicked that link from my forums subs email and got a popup telling me "Your browser is out of date. Click OK to install the update".

    Was curious because the URL in the popup title box was some completely different site, and I run Firefox, and its completely up to date

    Thought it ironic that a blog posting about WP hacks seems to have been hacked itself.

  9. #89
    Ryan's Avatar
    Ryan is offline WordPress Legend
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    2,801

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PaulCunningham View Post
    Was curious because the URL in the popup title box was some completely different site, and I run Firefox, and its completely up to date
    Yeah, I got the same thing. I thought I closed it, but maybe the close button was what triggered it to infect me perhaps?

    I think the virus scanning software I was using has expired (not unlikely since it's an Otago University licensed version and I'm not student or staff there anymore), either that or the virus has removed my virus scanner as Windows is reporting that I don't have one installed :(

  10. #90
    Ipstenu's Avatar
    Ipstenu is offline Big Tipper
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    368

    Default

    Now that's interesting. I saw that on a friend's site a couple days ago. pizdectopDOTcom was the pop-up's domain, and her site is running WordPress (2.9 for sure, she removes the absolute version from the headers). If I try to go there directly, Firefox says it's an attack site. I wonder if that's related?

Page 9 of 26 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •